During this blizzard, a look back at a snow-bound Boston Garden wrestling card

As those of us in New England get ready to dig out of 20+ inches of snow from the Blizzard of 2013, my memories take me back to 1991, when some friends and I trekked out in the midst of another strong storm to head to the old Boston Garden for the monthly WWF show.

It wasn’t a blizzard on January 12, 1991, but it was a snowy, windy storm in the middle of the day — and naturally, we had a matinee card at the Garden to get to.

I was 19 at the time and still living at home, and I remember my mother going, “What? You’re still going?” as I was getting my jacket on. To me, at that age, there wasn’t even a question I was going. It’s amazing the shit you’ll travel in when you’re in college.

It was pretty rough ride into Boston. As we often did, we parked in Malden Center and hopped onto the MBTA Orange Line subway for the trip into Boston. And sure enough, there were plenty of other wrestling fans on the platform waiting for the train that snowy afternoon.

The card was supposed to start at 1 p.m., and as I recall, they delayed the start for about 30 minutes to allow more fans (and probably wrestlers) to get into the arena.

From my notes that I still keep on my old Boston Garden adventures, I wrote an estimated attendance of about 7,000 people, which at the time was a low number for the monthly WWF shows, especially considering Hulk Hogan was in the main event. However, those attendance figures bottomed out a little more than  year later as the WWF reeled from the steroid and ring boy scandals.

Here the Boston Garden results from my notes:

  • Dustin Rhodes (a.k.a., Goldust, who is current WWE star Cody Rhodes’ half brother) defeated Playboy Buddy Rose
  • Barbarian defeated Saba Simba (who was Tony Atlas in one of the dumbest gimmicks ever)
  • Kerry Von Erich defeated “Mr. Perfect” Curt Hennig by disqualification with Rowdy Roddy Piper as the guest ref
  • Jake “The Snake” Roberts defeated Rick Martel by DQ
  • Haku defeated Koko B. Ware
  • Hart Foundation defeated Power & Glory (Hercules and Paul Roma)
  • Hogan and Tugboat (who later became Typhoon as a heel) defeated Earthquake and Dino Bravo

The great The History of WWE website notes that Jimmy “Superfly” Snuka and “Million Dollar Man” Ted DiBiase were both scheduled for this show but couldn’t make it due to travel problems. I don’t remember what matches those guys were supposed to be in.

A night-time card was scheduled for the Lowell Memorial Auditorium, about 30 miles outside of Boston, for the same night, but that show got cancelled because of the poor weather, The History of WWE says. I don’t remember what the matches were supposed to be that show, but no way Hogan was wrestling in a 3,000-seat arena at that point in his career. I bet most of the other wrestlers were scheduled for Lowell, however. The next night, most of talent appeared in Dayton, OH.

 

4 comments

  1. Frank Rugnetta

    Bruno Sammartino and the Sheik had a riot in the Boston Garden In late February 1969. In one of Bostons greatest and prolonged
    Blizzards. Boston got 25″ and parts of New England near Mount Washington NH got about 8 feet

  2. Joe Lowry

    One of my favorite blizzard attended wrestling cards just so happens to be what you use as a banner at the top of this webpage. Saturday December 5th, 1981 at 1:00 pm was WWF’s yearly matinee wrestling card. The main event featured Bob Backlunds defense of his WWF title against Magnificent Muraco inside the steel cage. This match took place after Muraco lost the Intercontinental title to Pedro Morales earlier in the week and was not recognized. Even though Morales fought Greg Valentine earlier in the card. I do recall them announcing it afterwards. So this was one of Muraco’s last matches before he took his sabatical down to Georgia. I recall the match was inside the steel cage and was a bloody one. The bearded Muraco was a force but Backlund prevailed when Muracos head got entangled in the ropes and Backlund walked out the door. After the match, I remember running over to Loge 1 (where the entrance was) and getting a glimpse of Muraco going back to the dressing room. I actually got some blood on the sleeve of my shirt. It was real!! I do recall them rushing the card along as they announced that MBTA service was going to be limited in the afternoon.

  3. scottyballgame71

    Ah, great memories. And I was in college up in Syracuse, NY at the time. Only a year later in January ’92 a group of buddies and I drove a couple hours to Albany for what may have been the greatest, star-studded, Royal Rumble of all time. It wasn’t in a blizzard but there was a heck of a lot of snow on the ground. What a night that was, and The Real World Champion prevailed. Wooooooooo!

Leave a Reply

