Michael Hayes sings a Freebirds tribute to Terry Gordy

Over the weekend I got to watch Michael “P.S.” Hayes step up the microphone and sing a song about his fallen Fabulous Freebirds teammate, Terry “Bam Bam” Gordy. The song is called “Freebird Road” and you can see video below and on the WWE YouTube channel.

“I wanted to introduce a whole new generation to somebody they may never have heard of,” Hayes says in the prelude to the song. The tribute coincides with the 11th anniversary of Gordy’s untimely death at the age of 40.

The Freebirds were well known for tearing it up in Georgia and Dallas. Their feud with the Von Erichs is legendary. I remember catching World Class Championship Wrestling from the Sportatorium in Dallas on Channel 25 in Boston in the 1980s. World Class wrestling was so different than what the WWF offered on Championship Wrestling each week.

Gordy was a tremendous performer in the squared circle. With the Freebirds and later in a tag team with Steve “Dr. Death” Williams, Gordy set a high bar for in-ring work as a big man.

I don’t know how many of you remember this, but the Freebirds had a very brief stint in the WWF in 1984, managed Dave Wolff, of all people, who was Cyndi Lauper’s boyfriend. At the time, Lauper was heavily involved with the Rock ‘N’ Wrestling Connection movement that eventually led to the first WrestleMania.

Gordy later had a forgettable WWF match with the Undertaker in 1996, with Gordy under a mask as the Executioner. By that point, the wrestling lifestyle had taken its toll on Gordy and his ability had waned.

Hayes’ video focuses on better days, showing plenty of clips of the Freebirds in their prime, with Hayes clearly still very sad about the passing of Gordy and the lost days of the Freebirds.

4 comments

  1. jason knight

    I watched the video as well, and I’m not ashamed to say it brought tears to my eyes. I was a big Freebirds and Terry Gordy fan, and it was awesome seeing Michael pay tribute to Terry. I agree that the product World Class and UWF in the 80s, though not as flashy as the WWF, was better because it was more in your face. Fabulous Freebirds for the hall of fame 2013.

  2. Joe Lowry

    I do certainly hope you comment on the 1000th episode of RAW last night. Lots of past WWE Superstars, although Stone Cold Steve Austin was absent. Any thoughts????

  3. Joe Lowry

    I certainly do remember the Fabulous Freebirds – all of them. Michael P.S. Hayes, Terry Boom Boom Gordy and of course Buddy Roberts. This team was ahead of its time. They lived their characters inside and outside the squared circle. I recall being in the Navy and flying home one weekend. I was at Norfolk Airport and I remember hearing this ruckus coming up behind me. It was the Freebirds strutting their stuff with the fans at the Airport!! All you could see is Hayes’ long flowing blond hair, Gordys huge ten gallon cowboy hat surrounded by hundreds of wrestling fans. They were living the life then. I also recall looking at my wrestling program at the Garden back in 1984 and Michael Hayes was listed on the undercard, he was a no show. I was both shocked and saddened. World Class Championship Wrestling was always on my radar for my Saturday morning wrestling programs. The Sportatorium hosted some of the best televised matches of the day. Good stuff!!

Leave a Reply

