Wrestling trivia: How many 1980s hometowns can you remember?

Ring announcing has kind of been a lost art in the WWE since Howard Finkel stopped doing regular duty, particularly at Madison Square Garden. The ring announcements are background noise, but in the halcyon days of WWF Saturday morning wrestling, a wrestler’s hometown meant something.

Thirty years on, I can remember that Pedro Morales hailed from Culebra, Puerto Rico, but I can’t tell you where Dolph Ziggler or Cody Rhodes claim to reside.

I thought it might be fun for long-time fans reading this to take my little challenge and see if they can guess what wrestlers I’m referring to with the following hometowns (just imagine Joe McHugh saying these cities):

  • The Isle of Malta
  • Sunset Beach, HI
  • Tocula, Mexico
  • Seattle, WA (Seattle doesn’t seem like much of a hint, except if you grew up watching ’80s WWF wrestling, in which case you probably know exactly who I’m talking about)
  • Stone Mountain, GA
  • Parris Island, SC
  • Auckland, New Zealand
  • Fiji Islands
  • Hyannis Port, MA (summer residence)
  • Krakow, Poland

I’m probably not stumping many of you, but I’ll put the answers in my next post just in case anyone can’t remember.

4 comments

    • bostongardenbalcony

      Thanks for your recent comments. I can’t tell you how much I associate my early memories of the WWF with the whole “Saturday morning wrestling experience,” of which Joe McHugh was a big part. One of my favorite posts on this site is, “And-a my name is Joooooooe McHugh,” which is my ode to McHugh. For what it’s worth, it is amazing how many times McHugh’s name shows up as a search term for people coming to this site — they all remember him.

  1. Pingback: Answers to hometown trivia and a funny note about Valentine « Boston Garden Balcony

Leave a Reply

