Boston’s favorite jabroni, the “Duke of Dorchester”

I might judge any longtime Boston wrestling fan’s worth by gauging his or her reaction to the phrase “Duke of Dorchester.”

That was the nickname of longtime WWF jobber Pete Doherty, who had a cult following at the Boston Garden because he lived in the Dorchester section of the city. That residence was confirmed to me by a ex-newspaper friend of mine who actually interviewed (and drank beer) with Doherty way back when.

Doherty pretty much always lost, although close observers will remember he holds a victory over Haku/Meng/King Tonga in the Garden. I saw Doherty wrestle many times in Boston, and as is often the case today in 2010, I find myself remembering Doherty and many of the other enhancement talent who have simply disappeared from wrestling.

Doherty wouldn’t cut it in today’s manicured WWE — he was pale white and flabby, with messy long hair and at least one missing tooth. He wrestling consisted of basic punches and kicks. Yet there was something endearing about this guy, to the extent anyone who attended the Boston Garden shows in the 1970s and 1980s probably remembers him.

Someone like Shawn Michaels could have gotten a good match out of him, which would have tore the house down in Boston. Instead, every month at the Garden, we saw the Duke lose, lose, lose.

5 comments

  1. Marc Scanz

    The Duke also did a stint as the masked The Golden Terror under the tutelage of Captain Lou Albano. The last time I remember seeing Doherty in the ring he was squashed by King Kong Bundy. The month before, Bundy had double-crossed Doherty in a battle royal so the Boston crowd wanted to see Pete’s revenge. Unfortunately, the Duke wasn’t up for the task….

  2. Evan J Rodgers

    I remember Pete Doherty very fondly.I think he turned pro around 1973.I reacall seeing him wrestle Ivan Putski aound 1979 0r ’80 on TV, then it seemed he dissapeared from TV for a while,later he made somehat of a comeback, and he usually held his own and put up a good fight-he was a great performer.He actually commentated a arena show in the late 80’s, he had good mic skills.There is a good internet interview with him, it;s worth a google.So far as I know he only wrestled mainly in the WWWF/WWF, although I think he did some shows with independant promotions also.Looking back, there was such a huge amont of talent in those days, it;s amazing.Those preliminary wrestlers, as they were then called, really were stars in their own right.It’s good to see them get credit and it’s nice to hear them remembered.Thats another reason that I,a lifelong Marylander, really like this site and I have great respect for the heritage of the Boston Garden, it was a great arena for wrestling, as was the old Baltimore Civic Center and others.
    Fans back then were so electric- I still can feel the exitement when I think about it!I also hear that Boston was a great city for rock music, too! I hope to visit some day.Thank you good folks who run this website and thank you for putting up with my rambling posts-it;s good to know I’m not alone in being old school!-Evan J Rodgers

  3. Pingback: Remembering some of the old-school WWF jobbers « Boston Garden Balcony

Leave a Reply

